GOVERNOR AKPABIO’S FIRST WIFE

by  Osondu Ahirika.

Say what you like, I LOVE GOVERNOR GODSWILL OBOT
AKPABIO. Before, I go any further, let me put on record, I
have never received any gratification whatsoever, nor met
His Excellency, Chief Akpabio in private. But, as I have said,
I will adore the name of this great leader till my last breath
on this plane, with no room for recant.
Now, with all sense of responsibility, I respectfully crave the
warrant of the amiable and supportive First Lady of Akwa
Ibom State, Her Excellency, Mrs Ekaette Unoma Akpabio to
say, without equivocation, that, I love Chief Akpabio like a
faithful first wife in a polygamous home.
Sad to note, in my type of job, if you don’t join the large
army of attack dogs against any official of state, you are
called a compromised and FOOD IS READY JOURNALIST. I
have grown a thick skin, and now immuned to that tag, I
fear no foe on this outpour of my heart. That said, I proceed
to share copiously, a touching story, whose authour, I can’t
figure out, but which, apt for my thesis, I lifted from the
facebook wall of Bassey Akpan. I shall however, for my
purpose, dissect the tale in two parts. Unedited, it is simply
titled, FOUR WIVES.
“Once upon a time there was a rich King who had four
wives. He loved the 4th wife the most and adored her with
rich robes and treated her to the finest of delicacies. He
gave her nothing but the best.
He also loved the 3rd wife very much and was always
showing her off to neighbouring kingdoms. However, he
feared that one day she would leave him for another. He
also loved his 2nd wife. She was his confidant and was
always kind, considerate and patient with him. Whenever the
King faced a problem, he could confide in her, and she
would help him get through the difficult times.
The King’s 1st wife was a very loyal partner and had made
great contributions in maintaining his wealth and kingdom.
However, he did not love the first wife. Although she loved
him deeply, he hardly took notice of her!
One day, the King fell ill and he knew his time was short. He
thought of his luxurious life and wondered, I now have four
wives with me, but when I die, I’ll be all alone.
Thus, he asked the 4th wife , “I loved you the most,
endowed you with the finest clothing and showered great
care over you. Now that I’m dying, will you follow me and
keep my company?”
“No way!”, replied the 4th wife, and she walked away
without another word. Her answer cut like a sharp knife
right into his heart. The sad King then asked the 3rd wife, “I
loved you all my life. Now that I’m dying,will you follow me
and keep my company?” “No!”, replied the 3rd wife. “Life is
too good! When you die, I’m going to remarry!” His heart
sank and turned cold.
He then asked the 2nd wife, “I have always turned to you for
help and you’ve always been there for me. When I die, will
you follow me and keep my company? “I’m sorry, I can’t
help you out this time!”, replied the 2nd wife. “At the very
most,I can only walk with you to your grave.” Her answer
struck him like a bolt of lightning, and the King was
devastated. Then a voice called out: “I’ll go with you. I’ll
follow you no matter where you go.”
The King looked up, and there was his first wife. She was
very skinny as she suffered from malnutrition and neglect.
Greatly grieved, the King said, “I should have taken much
better care of you when I had the chance!”
That’s the first act of the script and I wish to apply it to my
situation. In my honest opinion, Governor Akpabio has done
exceedingly well for Akwa Ibom State. I am persuaded, the
overwhelming majority of his people, really appreciate him,
but whether they comprehend his truly unqualifiable worth is
a different ball game entirely. I say so, on the strength of
my residency in the state for well over 33 years, and seeing
the her evolve politically, socially and economically from its
creation on September 23, 1987to date. I dare say, I have
never seen a more charismatic leader and sagacious
politician, mount the soapbox in this state.
Akpabio’s passion for development of his homeland is so
powerful. Indeed, it burns hot and is highly infectious. His
sense of witty humour is disarmingly illuminating. His
natural intelligence is pregnant with intuition and
discernment. Combining the triple power of hindsight,
insight and foresight, Akpabio is a leader well ahead of his
contemporaries and generation with light years.
I am not shocked or surprised, he is a statesman, who has
received the worst bashing of public image and hate
propaganda in the current republic. One wouldn’t expect any
less for such a mecurial figure. He has been called names,
assailed on all sides, almost besieged by some section of a
very hostile and belligerent press, within and beyond his
state. But, this stout hearted leader has soldiered on and
never taken his eyes away from the goal. I have but one
regret: I WISH MY PEOPLE CAN HAVE ONE UNCOMMON
TRANSFORMER IN THE MOULD OR INCARNATION OF
GODSWILL AKPABIO TO CHANGE THE FACE OF IMO STATE
FOREVER.
For eight years, amidst severe Court cases challenging his
electoral victory. In the face of the most virulent,
unrelenting, sometimes, outrightly malicious attacks on his
person/ administration, Chief Akpabio was able to carve a
niche for himself as the STAND-OUT performer among the
elite Club of Governors in Nigeria. Till date, he remains the
most decorated governor ever, with Awards, Recognitions,
Investitures, Conferments, installations etc, from credible
organisations across Nigeria and internationally. His
performance has compelled the world to notice him and no
campaign of calumny or mudslinging will diminish that
domino effect.
As Akpabio bows out in a little over a month hence, I
Osondu Godswill Ahirika, hereby unapologetically register
my attestation of his great and Seven Star performance and
now cry out: “Here was a Caesar, when comes such
another?” He has suffered the worst indignities and
alienation for insisting on facilitating the emergence of his
successor in office. In Deacon Udom Emmanuel, I remain
hopeful, we will find a worthy replacement. Albeit, I hasten
to echo the refrain that is already trending; AKPABIO, IYA
UMISS! Personally, I will miss this man who demystified
governance and Government in Akwa Ibom and threw the
doors of Hilltop Mansion open to his people irrespective of
class, status or tongue. Who gave youths the opportunity to
get involved and unleashed the womenforce(permit that
coinage), through unprecedented mobilization to become
the ubiquitous. Uyai Iban(Akpabio) Akwa Ibom. What
manner of a leader is this man?
I have heard his detractors say, the Prison doors are waiting
for him and I laugh at their naivety. What rubbish to utter!
True to his nature, the man remains aplomb with his robust,
sanguine character and thrives unruffled by the enterprise of
his few hate-filled assailants. Unbowed and never cowed by
the operation of his opponents, Akpabio fights back
whenever he does, with elegance and philosophical
evocation.
As every human, Governor Akpabio does have his
shortcomings. Perfection is attributable only to God
Almighty. I elect to magnify his virtues and intercede for his
faults. Love covers all sins and that’s my plight as far as
this personal icon is concerned. As he steps aside from the
Office of Governor next month, I am avowed, that, nothing
anyone says or does can alter my perception and world
view of Governor Godswill Akpabio. My love for him is equal
to that of the steadfast first wife in our anecdote. Never
mind, that I never got to enjoy his direct attention as a result
of multitudes and wives that thronged his path. Yet, will I
never let Akpabio walk away alone. I will stick with him
wherever he goes, even to the Senate of the Federal
Republic.
I shall not however end this eulogy, without rendering the
sequel of the parable of FOUR WIVES copied from Bassey.
Here we go!
“In truth, we all have the 4 wives in our lives: Our 4th wife is
our body. No matter how much time and effort we lavish in
making it look good, it will leave us when we die.
Our 3rd wife is our possessions, status and wealth. When
we die, it will all go to others. Our 2nd wife is our family and
friends. No matter how much
they have been there for us, the furthest they can stay by us
is up to the grave.
And our 1st wife is our Soul. Often neglected in pursuit of
wealth, power pleasures of the world. However, our Soul is
the only thing that will follow us
wherever we go. Cultivate,strengthen and cherish it now, for
it is the only part of us that will follow to the throne of God
and continue with us throughout Eternity.
Thought for the day: Remember, when the world pushes you
to your knees, you’re in the perfect position to pray. Pass
this on to someone you care about – I just did

Leave a comment